Established in 1809, St. Francisville is set in a unique location on a bluff of the Mississippi River. Often described as a town “two miles long and two yards wide,” the quaint community
offers southern hospitality, charming shopping, and breathtaking scenery. Symposium events are held at various historic and picturesque locations.
Afton Villa Gardens
Although a fire in 1963 destroyed the beautiful antebellum mansion, the gardens at Afton Villa are among the most famous and picturesque in the state. Beginning in 1972, Genevieve and Morrell Trimble undertook the task of restoring the grounds. Today the estate contains almost 35 acres of formal gardens and pleasure grounds, including the famous ruins gardens, a formal parterre garden, a daffodil valley, and a historic family cemetery.
Audubon State Historic Site
This three-story Colonial structure built circa 1806 features West Indian influences.. The interior has been restored to the late Federal period reflecting its appearance in 1821 when John James Audubon came as tutor to Eliza Pirrie. Enchanted by the House's grounds and woods, he collected specimens and painted a number of his now famous bird studies. The home and surrounding 100 acres and numerous outbuildings are preserved as a state historic site by the Office of State Parks.
Jackson Hall at Grace Church
Organized March 15, 1827, Grace Church is the second oldest Episcopal church in Louisiana. The present structure, built in 1858-60, is a well-preserved brick building reminiscent of Gothic country churches which dot the English countryside. Its peaceful oak-shaded cemetery is filled with fine statuary and Victorian monuments of marble and stone.
Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site
Built by Daniel and Martha Turnbull in 1834, Rosedown remains one of the most majestic properties in the area. The gardens are as grand as the home and were the province of Martha Turnbull throughout her life. The gardens grew out from the house over a span of several years, to cover approximately 28 acres. Currently, the planter’s home, historic gardens, 13 historic buildings and 371 remaining acres of Rosedown Plantation are preserved as a state historic site by the Office of State Parks.
Built circa 1850 in Washington, Louisiana for Dr. Louis Webb, this house served as a Confederate hospital during the Civil War. In 2006 David and Cammie Norwood moved the structure from St. Landry Parish to West Feliciana, where they restored it. It is unusual in that the parlor and dining room are on the second floor, the first floor hallway having originally been a carriage passage. Woodland is the private home of Mr. and Mrs. David Norwood.